East India's Hotel Market Is Three Markets Across Four States
Deoghar and Ranchi are both in Jharkhand, and their hotel demand has almost nothing in common. One town fills for a month of Shravani Mela pilgrims who sleep wherever there is a bed. The other fills because of a state office, a steel contract or a conference. A single "East India" rate calendar would misprice both.
For hospitality purposes the region is Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha and West Bengal. Sikkim shares a zonal council with them, but tourism sources group it with the North-East, so it sits in that region's hub. Three of the four states appear in more than one cluster, which is why the clusters below follow what drives a booking rather than where a state line falls.
| Cluster | Core cities and places | Primary driver |
|---|---|---|
| Business & Administrative Circuit | Kolkata, Bhubaneswar, Patna, Ranchi, Jamshedpur | Offices, ministries, industry and conference travel |
| Pilgrimage & Spiritual Circuit | Puri, Bodh Gaya, Gaya, Deoghar | Festival and pilgrimage calendars |
| Leisure, Heritage & Nature Circuit | Darjeeling, Sundarbans, Digha, Santiniketan, Odisha's coast | Weather-led leisure, wildlife and heritage weekends |
One Source, One Year: What East India's Hotel Data Shows and Does Not Show
The three numbers above measure three different things, so they cannot be ranked against each other. Market performance can be compared, but only where a source publishes it. This table uses one report and one year, Horwath HTL's India Hotel Market Review 2025, with India as the yardstick in the first row. "Not reported" means the report has no figure, and we have not filled the gap with another firm's number.
| Market | Cluster | Occupancy, 2025 | ADR, 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| India | National benchmark | 64% | ₹8,624 |
| Top 10 markets | National reference | 69.8% | ₹9,711 |
| Kolkata | Business & Administrative | 71.5% | About ₹7.1k |
| India, luxury and upper-upscale | National benchmark | 68.1% | ₹13,379 |
| Kolkata, luxury and upper-upscale | Business & Administrative | 74.9% | ₹9,270 |
| Patna, Ranchi, Bhubaneswar, Jamshedpur | Business & Administrative | Not reported | Not reported |
| Puri, Bodh Gaya, Gaya, Deoghar | Pilgrimage & Spiritual | Not reported | Not reported |
| Pure-play pilgrim markets, all India | Pilgrimage & Spiritual | About 60% to 65% | Not reported |
| Darjeeling, Digha, Santiniketan, Sundarbans | Leisure, Heritage & Nature | Not reported | Not reported |
| Odisha (Bhubaneswar, Puri, Gopalpur) | Business and Leisure | Not reported | Not reported |
Kolkata beat India's occupancy by 7.5 points and still sold about 18% under India's ADR. Its luxury and upper-upscale tier ran 6.8 points fuller than the national luxury tier and earned about 31% less, ₹9,270 against ₹13,379. The only other like-for-like benchmark, Horwath's 2024 estimate for religious-destination hotels, put their rate about 25% under the national figure. Full rooms and cheap rooms are the pattern here. Most of the region has no published hotel series at all, so the numbers you will see quoted for Patna, Puri or Darjeeling are counts of visitors, not measures of rooms sold.
Business & Administrative Circuit: Full Rooms, Below-Average Rate
A Kolkata hotel that simply matched India's 2025 average rate would have beaten its own market by roughly a fifth. The city ran at 71.5% occupancy, ADR of about ₹7.1k and RevPAR of about ₹5.1k, against India's 64%, ₹8,624 and ₹5,522. A pipeline of 2.1k rooms through 2030 would add about 40% to its inventory, and the Oberoi Grand has been out of the luxury count since mid-August 2024 for renovation. High occupancy tells you rooms sell at today's price. It does not tell you a higher price would hold, especially where fixed corporate contracts set a floor.
Patna, Ranchi, Bhubaneswar and Jamshedpur have no published hotel benchmark, so airport traffic and brand activity are the public signals. Marriott's 205-room Patna hotel (January 2026) and IHCL's 500-key Taj Patna (March 2026) are signed, not open, while Courtyard by Marriott Ranchi, 111 rooms, has traded since April 2025. Incentive terms also differ by state: Odisha cut the minimum size for a 3-star hotel from 50 rooms to 10 in January 2026, and West Bengal's 2021 scheme ran only to 31 December 2025.
Pilgrimage & Spiritual Circuit: Big Crowds, Modest Rooms
Deoghar logged 52,95,766 devotees at the 2025 Shravani Mela by 7 August. Gaya's Pitru Paksha drew 34.79 lakh in about a fortnight. Bodh Gaya saw 1.12 lakh foreign visitors in 2024. Those three figures count different things over different windows, and none of them is a count of hotel guests. Gaya's 2026 tent city alone housed 11,378 people, and temple guesthouses, monasteries and dharamshalas take a large share of the rest. Ask a town for its crowd and you get a number; ask for the share that arrives with a booked room and nobody publishes one.
The one like-for-like benchmark is Horwath HTL's 2024 estimate: religious-destination hotels earned about ₹6k at 55% to 58% occupancy, against ₹7,951 and 63.9% for India that year, about 25% below on rate. Its 2025 edition puts pure-play pilgrim markets at about 60% to 65% occupancy. Check the status of any hotel you benchmark against: Taj Puri (90 keys) and Welcomhotel Bodh Gaya (98 rooms, opened 22 October 2025) are open, while Radisson Blu Deoghar is signed.
Leisure, Heritage & Nature Circuit: The Least Measured Rooms in the Region
Odisha is the only part of this circuit with a published supply count. Horwath HTL puts chain-affiliated rooms at 668 until 2020 and about 2.5k now, with one luxury hotel and 11 upper-upscale ones. The state's 2024 domestic visits were 10,998,819, up 13%, and foreign arrivals 53,392, up 18%. In January 2026 Odisha cut the minimum for a 3-star hotel to 10 rooms and set capital subsidy of up to 30%, which points new supply at Puri, Chilika and Gopalpur.
Darjeeling's often-quoted 7,000 visitors a day is a peak-day figure from the local administration. Spread across a seven-month season it would be about 1.5 million visits a year, which does not match the pre-pandemic annual totals, so read it as a statement about the busiest weekends. At Digha, hoteliers report occupancy about 20% higher after a new temple opened on 30 April 2025, an association claim rather than audited data. IHCL and Ambuja Neotia announced 15 hotels in July 2025, but only four agreements were signed first, and the Sundarbans Taj is an identified site, not a signed one.
What This Means for a Hotel in East India
Three clusters, three revenue jobs, and in most of the region very little consultancy data to price against. That makes the comp set you build from your own bookings the main benchmark, and it makes the question of which cluster a property belongs to the first decision. A hotel in Puri can sit in the pilgrimage cluster in July and the leisure cluster in December.
| Cluster | What actually needs managing |
|---|---|
| Business & Administrative | Corporate contract renewals against the rack rate, a comp set where no benchmark exists, and the pace at which new supply is absorbed |
| Pilgrimage & Spiritual | Festival-date pace, group contracts with flight-linked cancellation terms, and the guesthouses and tent cities that compete for the same guest |
| Leisure, Heritage & Nature | Separate calendars for Darjeeling and the coast, scarce peak nights priced above filler nights, and a cyclone refund policy |
Radisson, Marriott and IHCL all announce East India projects, and a signing is a developer's intention, not an open hotel. Taj Patna and Radisson Blu Deoghar are signed, and Taj Puri is open. Pricing against a hotel that does not trade yet, or building a rate plan on a crowd count that includes people who sleep in a tent city, means pricing against a guest who is not in your lobby.
We'd start by assigning each property to a cluster by guest and booking window, not by state. Then we'd build a comp set of five to eight hotels from shared rate data, since Patna, Puri and Darjeeling have no published benchmark to lean on. We'd split contract, group and transient demand so that a festival fortnight or a corporate renewal does not distort the rate calendar. And on the coast we'd write cyclone cancellation terms before the October season, not after.
Which East India cluster does your property really belong to?
Book a call and we'll place your hotel against a comp set built from comparable properties, since a published city benchmark may not exist for you.
Book a Call to See Live ResultsIndia and Kolkata occupancy, ADR and RevPAR, the luxury and upper-upscale figures, the 69.8% and ₹9,711 top-10 reference, Odisha's chain-room count (668 to about 2.5k), the 2.1k-room Kolkata pipeline and the 60% to 65% pure-play pilgrim range come from Horwath HTL's India Hotel Market Review 2025 (February 2026, CoStar data). The 2024 pilgrim estimate (about ₹6k, 55% to 58%) and India's 2024 ₹7,951 and 63.9% are from the 2024 edition (February 2025). Kolkata's ADR and RevPAR are read from chart labels, so treat them as approximate. Percentage gaps are our own arithmetic on published figures. The Deoghar count is a Deputy Commissioner figure reported by PTI, and Puri's and Odisha's tourism counts come from state tourism departments as reported by ETV Bharat and Odisha Plus. The Darjeeling 7,000-a-day figure is from Outlook Traveller. The Digha 20% is a hoteliers' association statement as reported by PTI. IHCL signings are from the company's July 2025 announcement. The five-to-eight-hotel comp set is our operating practice, not a sourced figure. Each cluster page sets out its own sources in full.
Where does your property sit against East India's numbers?
Book your free revenue audit with MMR's revenue strategy team, the same team tracking performance across an 843-property national portfolio. We'll benchmark your ADR and occupancy against your real comp set, at no cost.
Book Your Free Revenue AuditFrequently Asked Questions
Want this set up for your property?
We'll review this against your hotel's current setup, free of charge.
